March 28, 2019

Land Conservation Funding in Danger! Your Voice is Needed!

We applaud Governor DeSantis and the Florida Legislature for their strong commitment to fix Florida’s water quality problems. We strongly believe that an approach to address blue-green algae blooms and red tide must also begin at the source, by protecting landscapes that can hold and clean water before it flows into our rivers and coastal estuaries
Currently there is 45 Million in the Senate budget for Florida Forever and ZERO for Rural and Family Lands Protection Program (RFLPP). The House has 20 million for Florida Forever and ZERO for RFLPP. Your voice is needed in support of these essential programs!

See THIS list of legislators who are making the funding decisions. Please call the number listed or email their legislative aid and let them know you support funding the RFLPP and Florida Forever programs – they are critical to protecting our water resources. Fixing our water issues will require a comprehensive approach (we can’t just fix the issues downstream and ignore where our water comes from).

Land Protection Funding is a TIME-SENSTIVE issue. Florida is growing at a rate of 1000 people a day; we are the 3rd most populated state in our nation. Many lands waiting to be protected will be lost in the next few years as our population increases. Protecting the landscapes that hold and clean our water is vital to our future.

Conservation Easements:
• Store and treat water BEFORE it reaches major water bodies;
• Prevent further decreases in water quality;
• Are the most cost-effective way to preserve our water resources

We can invest a little now or a LOT later to restore our watersheds!

Rural and Family Lands Protection Program (RFLPP)
Agricultural Conservation Easement Program under Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services. RFLPP’s primary mission is the protection of our working lands, agricultural economy and water resources.

Florida Forever
Florida’s conservation lands program under Florida Department of Environmental Protection (FF Program does BOTH fee-simple and conservation easements). Program is a national model for science-based land conservation. The primary goals of Florida Forever conservation easements are to: protect high priority natural resource areas and ensure our water resources are protected.

Florida Forever and RFLPP are critical to the health of the landscape; they both protect water quality and supply for urban area and viable wildlife populations.

 

Download PDF Flyer

 

Legislative List
Please call or email the legislators below. Start with the bulleted list of legislators at the top. Please reach out to any others on the Appropriations Committees or subcommittees that are listed below- ESPECIALLY if you have a personal relationship!

 

 

  • Senator Rob Bradley, Chair of Appropriations

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S5

Legislative Aide:  Taylor Ferguson                   (850) 487-5005

ferguson.taylor@flsenate.gov

 

  • Senator Wilton Simpson, Vice Chairof Appropriations

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S10

Legislative Aide:  Patty Harrison                     (850) 487-5010

harrison.patty@flsenate.gov

 

Legislative Aide:  Andrew Liebert                     (850) 487-5026

liebert.andrew@flsenate.gov

 

 

  • Jose Oliva, Speaker of the House (850) 717-5110

 

  • Travis Cummings, Chair of House Appropriations

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4540

Legislative Aide: Sandy Matthews                             (850) 717-5018

sandy.matthews@myfloridahouse.gov

 

  • Dane Eagle, Vice Chair of House Appropriations

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4573

Legislative Aide: Paige LeBoutillier                          (850) 717-5077

paige.leboutillier@myfloridahouse.gov

 

  • Holly Raschein, Chair of House Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4562

Legislative Aide: Julio Rodriguez                                 (850) 717-5120

julio.rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov

 

  • Rick Roth, Vice Chair House Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4648

Legislative Aide: Sheri Healy                                         (850) 717-5085

sheri.healy@myfloridahouse.gov

 

 

 

Other Senate Contacts
(please reach out to anyone you have a personal relationship with!)

 

Senator Bill Galvano, President

(850)487-5229

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/s21

 

Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Environment & Gen Gov’t
*Also on Full Appropriations Committee

Senator Debbie Mayfield, Chair*

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S17

Legislative Aide:  Adrienne Cronebaugh         (850) 487-5017

cronebaugh.adrienne@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Bobby Powell, Vice Chair*

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S30

Legislative Aide:  Tomas Alcala                     (850) 487-5030

alcala.tomas@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Ben Albritton, (Ag Chair, Environment and Natural Resources Vice Chair)

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S26

Legislative Aide:  Andrew Liebert                  (850) 487-5026

liebert.andrew@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Aaron Bean*

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S4

Legislative Aide: Dee Alexander                     (850) 487-5004

alexander.dee@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Lori Berman

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S31

Legislative Aide:  Evelyn DuPlecy                 (850) 487-5031

duplecy.evelyn@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Doug Broxson

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S1

Legislative Aide:  Kevin Brown                      (850) 487-5001

brown.kevin@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Ed Hooper

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S16

Legislative Aide:  Brian Flaherty                    (850) 487-5016

flaherty.brian@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Travis Hutson*

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S7

Legislative Aide: Danielle Curbow                 (850) 487-5007

curbow.danielle@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Jose Javier Rodriguez

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S37

Legislative Aide:  Laura Jimenez                    (850) 487-5037

jimenez.laura@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Linda Stewart*

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S13

Legislative Aide:  Avery Coleman                  (850) 487-5013

coleman.avery@flsenate.gov

 

Senate Appropriations Committee

 

Senator Rob Bradley, Chair

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S5

Legislative Aide:  Taylor Ferguson                 (850) 487-5005

ferguson.taylor@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Wilton Simpson, Vice Chair

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S10

Legislative Aide:  Patty Harrison                   (850) 487-5010

harrison.patty@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Lizbeth Benacquisto

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S27

Legislative Aide:  Matthew Hunter                (850) 487-5027

hunter.matthew@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Lauren Book

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S32

Legislative Aide:  Zoraida Druckman             (850)487-5032

druckman.zoraida@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Jeff Brandes

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S24

Legislative Aide:  Zachary Hubbard               (850) 487-5024

hubbard.zachary@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Oscar Braynon II

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S35

Legislative Aide:  Oneca Lowery                    (850) 487-5035

lowery.oneca@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Anitere Flores

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S39

Legislative Aide:  Nicholas Alvarez                (850) 487-5039

alvarez.nicholas@flsenate.gov

 

Senator George Gainer

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S2

Legislative Aide:  Andrea Gainey                   (850) 487-5002

gainey.andrea@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Audrey Gibson

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S6

Legislative Aide:  Farisha Hamid                    (850) 487-5006

hamid.farisha@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Tom Lee

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S20

Legislative Aide:  Robert Heere                      (850) 487-5020

heere.robert@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Bill Montford

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S3

Legislative Aide:  Melissa Durham                 (850) 487-5003

durham.melissa@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Kathleen Passidomo

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S28

Legislative Aide:  Jared Willis             (850) 487-5028

willis.jared@flsenate.gov

 

 

Senator Darryl Rouson

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S19

Legislative Aide:  Jason Holloway                 (850) 487-5019

holloway.jason@flsenate.gov

 

Senator David Simmons

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S9

Legislative Aide:  Valerie Clarke                     (850) 487-5009

clarke.valerie@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Kelli Stargel

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S22

Legislative Aide:  Rachel Barnes                     (850) 487-5002

barnes.rachel@flsenate.gov

 

Senator Perry Thurston

https://www.flsenate.gov/Senators/S33

Legislative Aide:  Kirstie Clinton                   (850) 487-5033

clinton.kirstie@flsenate.gov

 

 

Other House Contacts ((please reach out to anyone you have a personal relationship with!))

 

Rep. Jose Oliva, Speaker                                                    (850)717-5110

Florida House of Representatives: Agriculture & Natural Resources Appropriations Subcommittee

*Also on Full House Appropriations

 

Rep. Holly Raschein, Chair*

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4562

Legislative Aide:  Julio Rodriguez                                (850)717-5120

julio.rodriguez@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Rick Roth, Vice Chair

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4648

Legislative Aide:  Sheri Healy                                        (850)717-5085

sheri.healy@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Kristin Jacobs, Dem Ranking Member*

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4613

Legislative Aide:  Anika Hamilton                                (850)717-5096

 

anika.hamilton@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Thad Altman

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4329

Legislative Aide:  Selene Bruns                                    (850)717-5052

selene.bruns@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Chuck Brannan

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4708

Legislative Aide:  Staz Guntek                                      (850)717-5010

staz.guntek@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Chuck Clemons

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4655

Legislative Aide:  Ellen Boukari                                    (850)717-5021

ellen.boukari@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Lawrence McClure

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4686

Legislative Aide:  Kyle Langan                                      (850)717-5058

kyle.langan@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Anika Omphroy

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4749

Legislative Aide:  Varrol Bailey                   (850)717-5095

varrol.bailey@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Daniel Perez

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4690

Legislative Aide: Daniel Leon                                       (850)717-5116

daniel.leon@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Tina Polsky

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4751

Legislative Aide:  Alexis Montalvo                              (850)717-5081

alexis.montalvo@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Tyler Sirois

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4748

Legislative Aide:  Angelique Rinaldi                            (850)717-5051

angelique.rinaldi@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Clovis Watson

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4541

LegislativeAide:  Michelle Sherfield                            (850)717-5020

michelle.sherfield@myfloridahouse.gov

 

 

House Appropriations Committee

 

Rep. Travis Cummings, Chair

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4540

Legislative Aide:  Sandy Matthews                             (850)717-5018

sandy.matthews@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Dane Eagle, Vice Chair

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4573

Legislative Aide:  Paige LeBoutillier                             (850)717-5077

paige.leboutillier@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Kionnee McGhee

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4555

Legislative Aide:  Mikhail Scott                                    (850)717-5117

mikhail.scott@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Brian Avila

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4615

Legislative Aide:  Silvia Castellanos                             (850)717-5111

silvia.castellanos@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Cord Byrd

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4632

Legislative Aide:  Katherine Woodby                         (850)717-5011

katherine.woodby@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Ben Diamond

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4657

Legislative Aide:  Matthew Herndon                          (850)717-5068

matthew.herndon@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Bobby Dubose

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4612

Legislative Aide:  Ryan Horland                                   (850)717-5094

ryan.horland@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Nicholas Duran

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4650

Legislative Aide:  Roberto Alvarez                               (850)717-5112

 

roberto.alvarez@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Randy Fine

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4646

Legislative Aide:  Anna Budko                                     (850)717-5053

anna.budko@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Joseph Geller

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4614

Legislative Aide:  Joel Ramos                                       (850)717-5100

joel.ramos@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Evan Jenne

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4365

Legislative Aide:  Kristina Pickens                               (850)717-5099

kristina.pickens@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Mike LaRosa

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4546

Legislative Aide:  Rebekah Hurd                                  (850)717-5042

rebekah.hurd@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Chris Latvala

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4610

Legislative Aide:  Amy Gregory                                    (850)717-5067

amy.gregory@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Tom Leek

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4662

Legislative Aide:  Stephanie Benedict                         (850)717-5025

stephanie.benedict@myfloridahouse.gov

 

 

Rep. MaryLynn Magar

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4575

Legislative Aide:  Ann Bolduc                                      (850)717-5082

ann.bolduc@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Ralph Massullo

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4624

Legislative Aide:  Adele Hembree                                (850)717-5034

adele.hembree@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Cary Pigman

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4551

Legislative Aide:  Brandon Miller                                (850)717-5055

brandon.miller@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Scott Plakan

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4430

Legislative Aide:  Morgan Fess                                    (850)717-5029

morgan.fess@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Rene Plasencia

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4607

Legislative Aide:  Nitin Aggarwal                                  (850)717-5050

nitin.aggarwal@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Paul Renner

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4619

Legislative Aide:  Samantha Story                               (850)717-5024

samantha.story@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Ray Rodrigues

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4572

Legislative Aide:  Krissy Kulavic                                   (850)717-5076

krissy.kulavic@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Carlos Guillermo Smith

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4642

Legislative Aide:  Kristellys Estanga                            (850)717-5049

 

kristellys.estanga@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Chris Sprowls

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4609

Legislative Aide:  Anna Stearns                                    (850)717-5065

anna.stearns@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Richard Stark  

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4557

Legislative Aide:  Laurie Plotnick                                 (850)717-5104

 

laurie.plotnick@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Jay Trumbell

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4600

Legislative Aide:  Patti Butchikas                                (850)717-5006

patti.butchikas@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Barbara Watson

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4532

Legislative Aide:  Shelia Robinson                              (850)717-5107

shelia.robinson@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Jayer Williamson

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4622

Legislative Aide:  Sarah Green                    (850)717-5003

sarah.green@myfloridahouse.gov

 

Rep. Clay Yarborough

https://www.myfloridahouse.gov/Sections/Representatives/details.aspx?MemberId=4633

Legislative Aide:  Jennifer Contreras                          (850)717-5012

jennifer.contreras@myfloridahouse.gov

 

  •  
  •  
  •  
  •